Totally Judging this Cover

book-1524956_1920.jpg

Remember the saying “Don’t judge a book by its cover?” It’s. Total. Bullshit. Okay, while it is definitely applicable to many aspects of life, it simply cannot be applied to books, the very literal thing it’s about. Everyone does it: You’re browsing the shelves of your local bookstore or scrolling through the listings on Amazon bypassing book after book because the cover just doesn’t jump out at you. Then, you see it. That magnificent-looking book that just screams “Read me!” You finally grab it to take to the register or click “Buy it Now” on the website. You can hardly wait to get started! Right?

The importance of the book’s cover was beyond me when I first published in 2013. I figured hey, I wrote this awesome book. I made what I thought was a pretty ingenious cover, but I didn’t research popular covers or look into what pop culture favored…which is terrible considering my bachelor’s degree is about pop culture at its core. I should have known better. I didn’t.

The years went by and I continued with these covers. The next one was even more terrible. The third featured some awesome art from an amazing friend and author, and she gave me exactly what I asked for: a cover to match that of the first book. All well and good if it was the kind of cover and text that was selling. Not only does the image matter, but the TEXT FONT is essential, too! Who knew?

You don’t want to make the same mistake I made. I promise. Good covers don’t come cheap, but thankfully there are hoards of premade covers that sell for much less than a custom cover and are usable. In fact, my new go-to designer is from Fiverr – Vikncharlie. Her best package comes with a kindle cover and paperback wrap and, when combined with the option for the source file so I can make my own adjustments if desired, only cost $57.

I am transformed.

Not sure what makes an acceptable cover? Visit Derek Murphy’s rundown on the subject. He’s an expert on cover design and book marketing.

Look at these before and afters and be the judge. Which would you be more likely to purchase and read? If you decide reading them really is for you, click the picture and you’ll be take to where you can grab them for only 1.99 and .99, respectively.

 

OLD                                                        NEW
vucopy          the_vu_front

 

OLD                                                   NEW

41p0fze8-ul-_sx311_bo1204203200_          1997738659

 

Don’t forget to sign up on my mailing list to stay in the “know!” All new subscribers get a free story!

 

~*~ H ~*~

Leave a Reply

